The Esri Young Scholars Award program was launched in 2012 to recognize the exemplary work in geospatial sciences of undergraduate and graduate students at universities around the world. It is offered by Esri in cooperation with its international distributors.

Canada's Esri Young Scholars

Esri Young Scholars Award in Canada

A competition is held each year to select the Esri Young Scholar for Canada. Any full-time student or recent graduate from an undergraduate or graduate program at a Canadian college or university who has completed a project or research using Esri technology is eligible to apply. A panel comprising academic and business members review submissions. Judging criteria include content as well as poster design and presentation, and paper organization and clarity.

The winner travels to San Diego to attend the Esri User Conference and Education Summit @ Esri UC where their poster is displayed and they have the opportunity to interact with other Young Scholars from around the world. Read about the experiences of past winners at the Esri UC:

See where past international winners have come from:

2020 Competition

Congratulations to Spencer Elford, 2020 Winner, and runner-up Sean Leipe

View the submitted posters here: